request... it's for the youths

Got something to sell? Need a job? Post your for sale ads and resumes here. IMPORTANT: this forum for non-professional posts. If you are a professional organization and would like to post your ad here, please contact us at info@drakemag.com.
burgerthumb

request... it's for the youths

Post by burgerthumb » Thu Feb 21, 2013 8:10 pm

So.
I work as a teacher.
I work at a little hippy school in VT. We have a nice river with bass and trout within walking distance from my classroom.

Being a hippy school with all sorts of radical and weird notions about learning, it affords students and teachers 2.5 hours of 'elective' time each week. I get to elect what class I teach on Tuesday and Thursday afternoons.

Not sure how wise a move it is, but for the spring I am teaching fly-fishing. And I need some rods, reels, and lines in trout and bass weights (4-7?) that kids can use. Would you consider lending a setup for the end of the March through mid-June? That's the request. I just need a handful of rods to make it happen.

It's an independent school, but most (85%) of our students are publicly funded, and I don't want to offer my class only to the kids whose daddies can afford to run out and buy them a rod. I'm not interested in anything fancy or too valuable. These are high school kids and they've got a much higher than average chance of breaking something. On the other hand, they are good kids, and with probably less than 8 kids in the class, I can keep an eye on them pretty well.

Let me know if you'd be up for this via pm.

Thanks!
"...when it's your favorite stream, at some point...ya just gotta stand in front of the bulldozers." -Deerhawk

pbrstreetgang

Re: request... it's for the youths

Post by pbrstreetgang » Thu Feb 21, 2013 8:36 pm

I can lend you the following for your class:

- 2 Echo practice rods
- 1 Orvis Battenkill/TLS 3 wt
- 1 Orvis Battenkill/Streamline 5 wt
- 1 Echo Ion 7 wt (no reel, but I am looking)