Monthly photo contests will be the feature of this forum. Discussions of photographic techniques, gear, software, etc will (hopefully) discussed here.
By flyfisheraa573
Thinking of investing in a Photoshop application...just an amateur photographer wanting to screw around with some pictures. With a 6 month old, and two preteens, and fishing, I've been taking a lot of pictures, and wanted to start screwing with some of them.

Looking to sharpen, brighten, filter (ex. tobacco, vignette, etc), and whatever that mode is where you b&w everything except specific things on the pictures, like a flower, fish, etc. (told you I was an amateur).

Can I get by with the elements package to do these things, or do I have to go with the full blown photoshop?

Thanks ahead for all valuable info.
By locogringo
flyfisheraa573 wrote:Thinking of investing in a Photoshop application...just an amateur photographer wanting to screw around with some pictures. With a 6 month old, and two preteens, and fishing, I've been taking a lot of pictures, and wanted to start screwing with some of them.

Looking to sharpen, brighten, filter (ex. tobacco, vignette, etc), and whatever that mode is where you b&w everything except specific things on the pictures, like a flower, fish, etc. (told you I was an amateur).

Can I get by with the elements package to do these things, or do I have to go with the full blown photoshop?

Thanks ahead for all valuable info.
Check out Lightroom 3. You can download a 30 day trial from the Adobe site. I do 90% of my stuff in LR. I do a few things in PS that you can't do in LR.

I have never used PS Elements, so I can't speak to that.
By Mattb
locogringo wrote: Check out Lightroom 3. You can download a 30 day trial from the Adobe site. I do 90% of my stuff in LR. I do a few things in PS that you can't do in LR.
This.