Sponge Bob Square Head - Musky(predator) Popper

kind of self-explanatory, right? We seem to have some impressive thread-wrappers that lurk around this board. let's try to keep your "first booger" posts at a minimum.
AftonAngler

Sponge Bob Square Head - Musky(predator) Popper

Post by AftonAngler » Tue Mar 16, 2010 12:20 am

Sponge Bob Square Head

Brad Bohen
Fly Tier
http://www.MuskyCountryOutfitters.com

This pattern made it's debut in Musky Country in 2009. Early in the season I had a couple of clients up from Thorne Brothers/The Fly Angler out of Fridley, MN. They brought along a big squared headed closed cell foam popper that I got a big kick out of.

The square head was very effective. I was suprised at how well it popped. That fly was a bit over-the-top size-wise and was a bear to cast...but it got me fired up for topwater! They left the monstrosity with me and I started playing around with it and then incorporated the square head into some fly designs...

Basically I ended up marrying the square head to a Hang Time streamer. The results are a top water pattern that is easy to tie, casts very well and really calls up the fish...plus it is SUPER durable! Another bonus is it takes a lot of fish "just sittin' there"...something I think all good topwaters should do. The Hang Time form behing the square head looks and acts alive being still.

Don't just take my word for it - try one for yerself this season!

Materials

Glue: Clear Cure Goo (thick) and Gorilla Super Glue

Hook: Daiichi 2461 (6/0)

Thread: Danville 210 Denier Waxed Flymaster Plus

Tail: Bucktail – long and slender, topped with flashabou (20 strands), flanked by two long barred saddle feathers

Body: Hair, Flash, Feather applications – reverse tied bucktail, flashabou or crystal flash reverse tied, pair of long barred saddle feathers and spey wrapped blood marabou. This hair, flash, feather routine repeated until hook shank is filled.

Collar: Spey wrapped blood marabou feather.