Trump crackdown on science funding/communication

T.J. Brayshaw

Trump crackdown on science funding/communication

Post by T.J. Brayshaw » Tue Jan 24, 2017 5:01 pm

Man, I hate to even set foot in this place, but have to.

Not on here a lot lately, and only know a handful of you anyway but if you don’t know, I’m a biology professor. I do and teach research in ecology and evolutionary biology. Science, education (science education specifically, education in general) and environmental issues are big deals to me and my professional friends/colleagues.

Right now, my Twitter and Facebook feeds are filled with nothing but panic and outrage because, if you haven’t heard, the Trump administration has just (as in “this is all unfolding right this moment) put a variety of frightening freezes on funding, hiring and/or communication on a variety of organizations. EPA (Environmental Protection Agency) grants, hiring and communications are currently frozen. The USDA (U.S. Dept. of Agriculture) research arm, the ARS, seems to be facing similar restrictions. CDC (Centers for Disease Control) recently cancelled a conference on the connections between health/disease and climate change without explanation. The National Park Service is muzzled. Somebody was tweeting from Badlands National Park about climate change facts, against “the rules”, and those tweets just vanished.

Bad shit is going down. If you’re a fisherman, and a few of you are, this is probably not good news for you whether you realize it or not.

Jis sayin’

ChaseChrome

Re: Trump crackdown on science funding/communication

Post by ChaseChrome » Tue Jan 24, 2017 5:09 pm

T.J. Brayshaw wrote: If you’re a fisherman, and a few of you are, this is probably not good news for you whether you realize it or not.

Jis sayin’
Thanks for the "alternative facts" man...
I wish you all nothing but the best...fuck Canadian bitumen.
All thinking men are atheists...E. Hemingway

Sometimes hipness is what it ain't...Tower of P